Pipe dreams of misery.

My trust has been betrayed one or two times too many, my self esteem has been crushed under foot.
Sometimes by the soft soles of past lovers sneakers, sometimes by the heel of my own boot.

Despite my lack of apparent humanity I still dream that one day you’ll love me.
A pipe dream it may be, that soon will start fading, but its dreams that keep us all breathing.

Part of me wants you to pick me up in your arms and with a smile call me a fool.
But we seem to get stuck with me on the ground and you not sure what to do.

I’ll take the blame for being so broken, for not knowing how my parts fit.
I’ll be responsible for feeling so lonely that I can’t seem to let anyone in.

You take the blame for being so sure that you know what is best for us both.
You be responsible for being so lonely that neither of us gets what we want.

Leave a comment